Deputy Dean for Academics Asu Ozdaglar and Jeffrey C. Grossman, the Morton and Claire Goulder and Family Professor of Environmental Systems and head of the Department of Material Science and Engineering, co-chair the Common Ground Standing Committee, which is comprised of faculty from all five MIT schools in addition to Digital Learning. The committee evaluates how to best to support and advance Common Ground’s objectives and is currently centered on three primary focal areas.

Committee Structure

A chart of the Common Ground Standing Committee

The committee should evaluate how to bring together multi-department teaching to develop classes and programs that blend computing with other disciplines. Issues to examine should include:

  • How do we develop “Computation in Context” classes? Can we distill common concepts in a common core which can then be blended and integrated within the context of a specific domain? How can we integrate computing into existing core classes?
  • How do we combine these courses into a coherent set of offerings?
  • How do we streamline and coordinate offering of computing classes in many disciplines across MIT, such as numerical and simulation methods and machine learning?
  • How can we better integrate blended majors? How do we develop a systematic template for blended majors and paths in computation in curricula of other departments?
  • How can we develop a process for faculty to develop courses in the Common Ground?
  • What is the right funding model for supporting efforts across the Common Ground?

  • Jeff Grossman, co-chair (Materials Science and Engineering)
  • Asu Ozdaglar, co-chair (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • Dimitris Bertsimas (Sloan)
  • Devin Caughey (Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences)
  • Fredo Durand (Equity Officer)
  • Benoit Forget (Engineering)
  • Caitlin Mueller (Architecture and Planning)
  • Krishna Rajagopal (Digital Learning)
  • Troy Van Voorhis (Science)

  • Dave Darmofal, co-chair (Aeronautics and Astronautics)
  • Troy Van Voorhis, co-chair (Chemistry)
  • Benoit Forget (Nuclear Science and Engineering)
  • Peko Hosoi (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Ruben Juanes (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
  • Caitlin Mueller (Architecture)
  • Gigliola Staffilani (Mathematics)

About Computational Science and Engineering

  • Eran Egozy, co-chair (Music and Theater Arts)
  • Rob Miller, co-chair (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • Ana Bell (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • Nicolas Hadjiconstantinou (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Adam Hartz (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • Krishna Rajagopal (Physics)
  • Leigh Royden (Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences)

About Computational Thinking

  • Ankur Moitra, co-chair (Mathematics)
  • David Sontag, co-chair (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • Dimitris Bertsimas (Sloan)
  • Chris Burge (Biology)
  • Devin Caughey (Political Science)
  • Michale Fee (Brain and Cognitive Sciences)
  • Tommi Jaakkola (Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)
  • Brent Minchew (Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences)
  • Anna Mikusheva (Economics)
  • Cathy Wu (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
  • Jinhua Zhao (Urban Studies and Planning)